Tuesday, 2 February 2016


Toronto - At a press conference held today in Toronto, Warner MusicCanada and its affiliated labels earned a total of 11 nominations for the 2016JUNO AwardsCTV will broadcast the JUNO Awards from the Saddledome in Calgary, Alberta on Sunday, April 3, 2016.

Scott Helman – Breakthrough Artist of the Year; Pop Album of the Year (Augusta)
2015 was a remarkable year for Toronto singer-songwriter Scott Helman. His single “Bungalow” from his debut EP Augusta had reached #1 on CBC Radio’s national charts during Christmas of 2014 and, in the New Year began its climb up the charts at Modern Rock, Top 40 and AC radio.  In June, “Bungalow” was nominated for Best Pop Video at the MMVAs which led to a dynamic national TV performance by Scott and his band. In July, “Bungalow” was certified gold in Canada. For most of the year Scott was on the road playing at variety of music festival across the country before joining Walk Off The Earth for extensive tour in the U.S. and Europe.  In the Fall, Scott was named the first-ever winner of Spotify’s Emerge program, beating out 12 other Canadian artists. Since launching his music on Spotify, Scott’s music has been streamed over 3.5 million times, and his videos have been viewed over 2.6 million times on YouTube. The year ended with a 30+ tour across Canada and Scott topping Teen Vogue Magazine’s list of Top 14 voices to be on the lookout for in 2016. These are first time Juno nominations for Scott.

Francesco Yates – Breakthrough Artist of the Year
Francesco Yates’ star has been on the rise since he signed his first record deal with 21 Music/Atlantic Records at the young age of 16.  In the years leading up to the release of his 2015 self-titled debut EP he’s gone on to work with some of the biggest names in the business, including Robin Hannibal, Robin Schulz and even Pharrell Williams. Last year saw the debut of his breakout single “Better to Be Loved” which was a top 5 hit at Canadian radio and “Sugar,” a collaboration with Robin Schulz, which Spotify credited as the “Most Viral Song of 2015".  This is the first time Francesco Yates has been nominated for a Juno Award.

Brett Kissel – Country Album of the Year (Pick Me Up)
2014’s Juno Award winner for Breakthrough Artist of the Year – did not fall victim to the sophomore slump with the release of his album Pick Me Up last year.  Apple Music Canada named it the best country album of 2015 and CBC included it on their list of top Canadian albums. Pick Me Up’s first single, “Airwaves,” earned Brett his first chart-topping hit at Canadian country radio, while the music video reached number 1 on CMT’s Top 20 Countdown. This is Brett’s third career Juno Award nomination.

Matthew Good – Rock Album of the Year (Chaotic Neutral)
Matthew Good is one of Canada’s preeminent voices in music today.  2015 marked the release of Chaotic Neutral, Good’s 11th studio album.  In the 20 years since the release of his debut album he has been prolific in his output.  His studio albums have combined for nearly one million albums sold in Canada alone. Matthew Good has previously been nominated for 20 Juno Awards, including Rock Album of the Year for his last three studio albums Arrows of Desire, Lights of Endangered Species and 2011’s Vancouver, for which he took home the award.

The Sheepdogs – Rock Album of the Year (Future Nostalgia)
The Sheepdogs seemed to explode out of Saskatoon in 2011 when they became the first independent band ever to grace the cover of Rolling Stone Magazine.  Their debut album, Learn & Burn, went on to earn platinum certification and three Juno Awards in Canada while their self-titled sophomore release (produced by The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney) was certified gold.  Future Nostalgia was self-produced by The Sheepdogs and has garnered the Rock Radio hit “Downtown”.  This is the band’s ninth Juno Award nomination.

Vance Joy – International Album of the Year (Dream Your Life Away)
Vance Joy is an Australian singer-songwriter who broke out internationally in 2015 with his hit single “Riptide.” His debut album Dream Your Life Away has achieved platinum certification in Canada, where Vance Joy is in the midst of a national headlining tour.  This is the first time Vance Joy has been nominated for a Juno Award.

Nominations for related Warner Music Canada recordings and distributed labels include:

Paul Brandt – Country Album of the Year (Frontier) / Road Angel
Dan Romano – Adult Alternative Album of the Year (If I’ve Only One Time Askin’) / New West
LeE HaRVeY OsMOND – Contemporary Roots Album Of The Year (Beautiful Scars) / Latent

Thomas “Tawgs” Salter – Jack Richardson Producer Of The Year (“Bungalow” – Scott Helman) / Warner Music Canada

No comments:

Post a Comment